Savoir-faire

The wines of Château La Mission Haut-Brion owe their success to the singularity of their terroir, but also to the savoir-faire of the dedicated professionals who achieved such exceptional results.

The Harvest, the culmination of a whole year’s work

To produce great wines, we need beautiful and good grapes. The grapes are harvested by hand according to their ripeness, then sorted and de-stalked (the stalk is separated from the fruit) leaving only the quintessence, which will determine the greatness of the vintage. The fruit is placed in vats, the temperature will gradually increase and fermentation can begin.

“The greatness of a vintage depends on the optimal
quality of each harvested grape.”

From grapes to wine, a moment of truth in the winery

The grapes harvested and the berries placed in vats, the temperature rises… Now it is time for fermentation to begin. Thanks to technology and precise temperature control, the fermentation is fully controlled. Two weeks later, when the colours, tannins and main aromas have contributed their full potential, it’s time to drain the vats. This is the moment of truth, each vat containing a wine with its own unique personality. 

The blending, a fundamental step

At Domaine Clarence Dillon, mother company of Château La Mission Haut-Brion, we have developed a centuries-old blending culture, a true expertise and signature. The blending tastings are done as a team, with the Cellar Master, the Vineyard Manager, the Technical Director and the General Manager. They bring together samples from the properties; each person tasting the same wines and all comparing their opinions. The first session is always a blind tasting, so as not to be influenced by the origins of the parcels and thereby give full rein to the senses. Twenty or so vats are tasted and thirty or forty blends are tested before the puzzle eventually falls into place. 

 

Shaping exceptional and unforgettable wines

The best wines are selected for the blend of Château La Mission Haut-Brion red and are matured in barrels for 20 to 24 months.  Maturation contributes to wine’s development, gently oxygenates it and smoothens it. The period of maturation is the art of incorporating the barrels’ woodiness into the wine, to ensure that the wood of new barrels never dominates the wine. Every year, the percentage of new barrels is reviewed, according to the vintage’s characteristics and the wine’s profile. The first racking is done three months after the wine has been placed in barrels and is then done every three months or so, using a method called à l’esquive.  It is lengthy and challenging, but a traditional task we perpetuate at the estate, because it is the one that handles the wine with the utmost care. During this procedure, an appraisal of the wine’s quality and the decision to stop racking depends solely upon the person who scrutinizes the wine in the glass, assisted simply by the light of a candle, throughout the racking process. Racking ends as soon as the wine appears cloudy.

A truly passionate team of experts

Jean-Philippe Delmas

Deputy Managing Director – Wines and Estates

Behind this slightly austere title lies a man devoted to his art. Jean-Philippe Delmas, the third generation of his family in charge of producing Domaine Clarence Dillon’s wines, tells a new story every year. A true artist of wine, he is a writer, drawing on the subject matter given to him by nature and the work of men and women over the seasons to create together the wines that today ensure the renown of Domaine Clarence Dillon around the world.

Jean-Philippe Masclef

Technical Director

Two roles, two complementary passions. A scientist and oenologist, he works in tandem with the Cellar Master, like a composer and a librettist, creating the great wine that is coveted by wine lovers all over the world. For Jean-Philippe Masclef, a great wine is one you remember. He and his team focus on a work of perfection, like creating a new opera year after year.

 

Florence Forgas

Cellar Master 

Born in Talence (Bordeaux), Florence Forgas starts her technical studies with a degree in viticulture and oenology, followed by an apprenticeship and an early career in different Bordeaux appellations, from Entre-deux-Mers to Saint-Emilion. She joins Domaine Clarence Dillon in 2014 and becomes Cellar Master, by the side of our Technical Director, Jean-Philippe Masclef. She adds a further skill to her resume by getting the National Oenologist Degree in 2021. 

 

Pascal Baratié

Vineyard Manager

The gallery of artists would not be complete without this man and his team, taking care of the vines. A true gardener, his job is to enhance the quality of the terroir. His role is to produce the best grapes, working tirelessly all year long. Like a luthier, he creates the magnificent instruments to be used by all the other people in this team. A former rugby player, he knows how to get the best out of his staff.

Savoir faire

Les vins de Château La Mission Haut-Brion doivent leur succès à l’écosystème particulier de leur terroir mais également à la somme des intelligences humaines qui se sont succédées pour en faire des crus d’exception.

Les vendanges, aboutissement d’une année entière de labeur

Pour faire de grands vins, il faut de bons et beaux raisins. Les vendanges sont l’aboutissement d’une année entière de labeur. Les raisins sont récoltés à la main en fonction de leur maturité, puis triés et éraflés (la rafle est séparée des baies) pour n’en conserver que la quintessence. De leur qualité dépendra la grandeur du millésime. Les baies sont encuvées, doucement la température va s’élever et les fermentations vont pouvoir démarrer.

“La grandeur d’un millésime dépend
de la qualité optimale de chaque raisin cueilli”.

Des raisins au vin, un moment de vérité au chai

Les raisins récoltés et les baies encuvées, la température s’élève… Place à la fermentation. Le vinificateur sait, grâce à la technologie et à une gestion précise des températures, contrôler ces fermentations. Deux semaines plus tard, lorsque les couleurs, tanins et principes aromatiques ont apporté tout leur potentiel, il est temps d’écouler les cuves. Véritable moment de vérité, puisque de chacune d’elles surgit un vin possédant sa propre personnalité.

L’assemblage, une étape cruciale

Chez Domaine Clarence Dillon, maison mère de Château La Mission Haut-Brion, nous avons développé une culture séculaire de l’assemblage, un véritable savoir-faire et une signature. Les dégustations d’assemblage sont faites en équipe, avec la maître de chai, le chef de culture, le directeur technique et le directeur général. Ils réunissent des échantillons des propriétés, chacun dégustant les mêmes vins et comparant leurs avis. La première séance est toujours une dégustation à l’aveugle, afin de ne pas être influencés par l’origine des parcelles et de laisser pleinement la place aux sens. Une vingtaine de cuves sont dégustées et trente ou quarante assemblages sont testés avant que le puzzle ne s’assemble.

Elaborer d’inoubliables vins d’exception

Les meilleurs vins sont sélectionnés pour l’assemblage du Château La Mission Haut-Brion rouge et vieillis en barriques durant 20 à 24 mois. Le vieillissement contribue au développement du vin, l’oxygène en douceur et le polit. L’élevage est aussi l’art de marier les bois des barriques avec le vin, pour faire en sorte que le vin ne soit jamais submergé par le bois neuf. Chaque année, la part de barriques neuves est adaptée, en fonction du vin et des caractéristiques du millésime. Le premier soutirage a lieu trois mois après la descente en barrique et ensuite, un soutirage est effectué tous les trois mois environ. Les soutirages sont réalisés à l’esquive, geste traditionnel perpétué au domaine, long et exigeant, mais bien plus respectueux de la matière première. Durant cette opération, l’appréciation de la qualité du vin et la décision d’arrêter le soutirage repose entièrement sur l’humain, qui « mire » le vin dans un verre, à la lumière d’une bougie, au fur et à meure du soutirage. Celui-ci s’achève dès le vin apparaît trouble.

Une équipe d’experts passionnés

Jean-Philippe Delmas

Jean-Philippe Delmas, Directeur Général Délégué – Vins et Propriétés

Sous ce vocable un peu austère, se cache un homme de l’art. Jean-Philippe Delmas, 3ème génération de sa famille à être responsable de l’élaboration des vins de Domaine Clarence Dillon, interprète une nouvelle histoire chaque année. Véritable artiste du vin, il tire parti de la matière que la nature et le travail des hommes lui ont fourni tout au long des saisons pour concevoir l’ensemble des vins qui font aujourd’hui la réputation de Domaine Clarence Dillon dans le monde entier.

Jean-Philippe Masclef

Jean-Philippe Masclef, Directeur technique

Deux métiers, deux passions complémentaires. Le scientifique, l’oenologue, conseille le Maître de chai qui met en musique et crée le grand vin que les amateurs du monde entier convoitent. Pour Jean–Philippe Masclef, un grand vin est un vin dont on se souvient. Ce véritable travail de librettiste et celui de son équipe tendent vers cet idéal, comme pour la création d’un opéra chaque année renouvelé.

Florence Forgas

Florence Forgas, Maître de chai

Bordelaise née à Talence, Florence Forgas commence sa formation technicienne avec un BTS viti-oeno, suivie d’un apprentissage et un début de carrière qui la feront passer par différentes régions et appellations bordelaises, de l’entre-deux-mers à Saint-Emilion. Elle arrive chez Domaine Clarence Dillon en 2014 et prend le poste de Maître de chai, aux côtés de Jean-Philippe Masclef, le Directeur Technique.  Elle ajoute en 2021 une nouvelle corde à son arc en passant le Diplôme National d’Œnologie. 

Pascal Baratié

Pascal Baratié, Chef de Culture

Cette galerie d’artistes ne pourrait être complète sans cet homme et son équipe qui prennent soin des vignes de Château La Mission Haut–Brion. Véritable jardinier, il prend à coeur sa fonction « d’exhausteur de terroir ». Son rôle : produire les meilleurs raisins en travaillant sans relâche tout au long de l’année. A l’image d’un luthier, il crée les magnifiques instruments dont chacun des hommes cités plus haut va profiter. Ancien rugbyman, il sait tirer le meilleur de ses équipes.